Review of “A New Earth” by Eckhart Tolle

An excellent Christian review of “A New Earth” that is worthy of consideration:

http://gregboyd.blogspot.com/2008/04/echhart-tolles-new-earth-book-review.html

About

Follower of Jesus, married with 5 grown up children, 6 grand children, ex-military and residing in beautiful Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada. a.k.a. "Papa"

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Christian, Eckhart Tolle, New Age, Oprah, Religion
2 comments on “Review of “A New Earth” by Eckhart Tolle
  1. Lovie says:

    I am so greatful to Eckhart Tolle and Oprah for turning me onto Dr. Jill Bolte Taylor and her beautiful book “”My Stroke of Insight””. Her story is amazing and her gift to all of us is a book purchase away I’m happy to say.

    Dr Taylor was a Harvard brain scientist when she had a stroke at age 37. What was amazing was that her left brain was shut down by the stroke – where language and thinking occur – but her right brain was fully functioning. She experienced bliss and nirvana and the way she writes about it (or talks about it in her now famous TED talk) is incredible.

    What I took away from Dr. Taylor’s book above all, and why I recommend it so highly, is that you don’t have to have a stroke or take drugs to find the deep inner peace that she talks about. Her book explains how. “”I want what she’s having””, and thanks to this wonderful book, I can! Thank you Dr. Taylor, and thank you Eckhart and Oprah.

  2. Bruce says:

    I have watched the video that you speak of Lovie. The only reference point that I have to weight this with is the experiences that I have had in my life so far that venture into this realm of awareness. I do not doubt the reality of this awareness but I do have to focus on what I would call a balanced reality. God in His wisdom created us with a brain that has two hemispheres. It would appear that they are designed to function together. I can see the benefits of focusing on the awareness of the right hemisphere but there are also pitfalls. I can only speculate or compare the message that I see in the video with the combined learnings of my life experience. Have I stood in this awareness, yes I have, only the focus was not so much on the I am of me as it was on the reality of the I Am of God. I do know that I did not want to leave this awareness but the reality of this experience (and there have been more than one) was that I did return to what I call, the balanced reality. What I see is a realization or an awaking of this focused experience coming onto the radar of men’s minds that essentially says that we can see differently, experience differently, react differently, hear differently if we learn to recognize the reality of the I am of ourselves. My experiences did not focus on me, they focused on the I Am of the Bible, namely God the Creator. I do not pretend to understand all the various aspects of this “awareness” but I do know that when prophets of the Old Testament came into the awareness of the I Am of the Bible, they fell on their knees, which incediently is what I did, due to a number of factors that I cannot adequately explain in this forum other than to say that to say that God is Holy, loving and all knowing (as it pertains to my relative achievement at meeting the standard) clearly, at least from my experiences, puts a whole new meaning to me being wholly inadequate to articulate the experience. I do know this, God placed my feet on this earth and part of my journey is to walk on this earth and labor on this earth, using both sides of my brain. If anyone was aware of the potential of the brains capabilities, it had to be Jesus, but He was always focused on the I Am of the Bible, i.e. God the Father. He conveyed this time and time again. I see a danger here, much like the tests that they have done with mice, wherein a reward in self indulgence leaves the mouse in a state where it is so focused on self gratification that it basically exhausts itself. If this new awareness means the openings of ones eyes to the reality of the I am of oneself, I would have to contend that the reasoning of my balanced mind would see this as a move away from God, rather than towards Him. Jesus was not sent to this world to help us become aware of who we are (i.e. the oneness of humanity) God the Father sent His Son because we (i.e. the oneness of humanity) have a problem that separates us from the reality of the I Am of the Bible. If this awareness of our I Am was all that was needed to correct the problem, then Jesus would not have had to die on the cross, but He did. Maybe an oversight on God’s part, I think not. For God so loved the world, that He sent His only begotten Son…. God does not play head games. The cunningness of deception is that the new awareness of the I Am of oneself moves us away from the I Am of our salvation. Food for thought …..

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats
  • 12,607 hits
Google Translate Available here …
Post Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Last 50 posts ….

Christian Apologetics

Thought Synergy

Learning to think like God thinks

Natasha Crain

Faithful Christian Parenting in a Secular World

Cerebral Faith

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

The Benefit of the Doubt

Thoughts on Christianity and its Doubts | Travis M. Dickinson

THINKAPOLOGETICS.COM

Responding to Critics, Seekers, and Doubters

Bible Spotlight

Shining a Light on the Bible and Bible Times

1 Way 2 Yahweh

... through the blood of Jesus alone.

A Softer Shade of Red

Just another God tale of Beauty for Ashes...

DaviD JosE

Faith | Hope | Love

Liberty On the Lighter Side

...sometimes lighthearted but always delighting in the Light...

Canon Fodder

Exploring the origins of the New Testament canon and other biblical and theological issues

Vatican Files

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Ancient Paths

Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the Ancient Paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls. Jeremiah 6:16

Cyber Penance

Apologetics, Devos, Random Thoughts

little by little

One little family finding our way - Little by Little, Day by Day

Sensible Nonsense

Greetings fellow Earthlings. The blog is about getting some perspective about daily life things. The not so boring stuff.

Matthew Winters (Comeback Pastor)

The life, ministry, & thoughts of a Christ-follower, husband, dad, & minister

Eternity Versus the Moment

Living with a two-world perspective

Center for Science and Culture

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Apologetics Canada

...Helping Churches Engage Young Adults across Canada...

A Clear Lens

Theology, Apologetics, Worldview

The Silver Lining

Encouraging others to find hope, healing, truth, and freedom through Jesus Christ.

ApoloJedi

Discussing Biblical Authority

The Isaiah 53:5 Project

Life: the time God gives you to determine how you spend eternity

Endless Rivers

It all started with a blank piece of paper

christfollower85

I would love for you to join me in worshipping Christ.

Salt My Words

Let your conversation be gracious and attractive and seasoned with salt...

You Can Trust Him

God's Faithfulness for the Grieving Parent

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

Brandon J. Adams

For millennials seeking the abundant life of Jesus

The Ruminant Scribe - Snapshots of God's World and Word

Thoughts based on God's Word as seen in His World

Real Christianity

THE NATURE OF THE CHURCH

marks of the kingdom

Infiltrating the darkness with the light of Christ's reign.

God's Grace ~ God's Glory!

~ declaring His kingdom ~ for His glory

Saving Sodom

Live a life of positive influence

Christians Ascent

Connecting People to JESUS

Shepherd/Guardian

So have I become your enemy by telling you the truth? Galatians 4:16

Bible Apologetics

discussing the evidence for the Bible

Liberating Lions

"The truth is like a lion. You don't have to defend it. Let it loose. It will defend itself."

randy bunch

Connecting People to His Purpose

What's Happening...?

helping you to know & to survive

