A Response To Donald

A Response to Donald

Donald recently posted a question to me under “About” which is as follows,

“I am curious about people who are Christians. would you be kind enough to discuss your beliefs with me?

‘I believe that it is through Christ’s atonement for us on the cross that we are saved and that through faith in His work, not my own’

What exactly do you feel saved from?

First off Donald, please accept my apology for not getting back to you sooner, day to day living has been a little on the hectic side as of late. I trust you will understand.

The short answer to your question is basically from my own nature, things that I have done, thoughts that I have thought. The Bible calls these shortcoming sin and I believe that all of humanity is subject to commiting sin. The New Testament gives us a recollection of an event wherein a woman who was caught in adultry was brought before Jesus for judgement. In the Old Testament this sin was punishable by death (stoning was the common method). Interestingly enough, both male and female were subject to this punishment but it would appear that only the woman in this case was brought forward. When asked to render a verdict on the woman, Jesus said to the gathered crowd, and I paraphrase here, “Let he that is without sin cast the first stone.” What happened next is that the New Testament states that from the eldest to the youngest, the accusers departed. Jesus asked the woman where her accusers were, and she responded that there were none. Jesus then replied, “Neither do I comdemn you, go and sin no more.”

I am 63 years old, the way that I think things through now is not the way that I thought things through when I was much younger. That definitely doesn’t mean that I am perfect now in all that I do or not do, nor in all that I think or not think, but there has been a substantial change in perspective and for lack of better words, as I recollect some of the things I did and thought in my younger days, it is not difficult to see where my perspective was flawed on a number of occasions.I would suspect that this shortfall continues to this very day, in fact I am sure of it, maybe not as frequent but it is still there, because when all is said and done, I am, in my current state, imperfect, in myself.

Perspective is an interesting word because the life that I have lived has showed me that it changes as new variables are introduced into the equation of life. Do I understand all of the implications of sin, no I do not, but I have learned this. God’s nature or character is different from ours, His ways are not our ways and His thoughts are not our thoughts. A number of years ago, for reasons I do not fully comprehend, I was given grace to stand in the presence of God. This event in my life gave me insight into three things instantly, all at the same time. Holliness is not a word, it is a presence that emulates from the person of God. Second, the difference between myself and God is like day and night and thirdly, God’s love that emulates to us is beyond comprehension. I do know this, I did not want to leave His presence.

I believe that the oneness we had between God and ourselves (humanity) has been broken. Free will I would think, plays a vital role in that. The Law or the Old Testament was given to us to show us that we could not, in ourselves, bring ourselves back into union with God by perfectly following a set of laws or rules per sec. In order to correct the problem you first have to come to the realization that there is a problem. But the Old Testament is only part of God’s message to mankind, the New Testament is the fulfillment, the completion if you will of the original or complete intent of God. He, God provided the way per sec by sending His Son Jesus. The work that Jesus did was to do the will of the Father, and ultimately this meant laying down His life so that we might be at one with the Father again. Consequently, when I say that I believe that it is through the atoning “work” that Jesus did, i.e. His communication of God’s intent and ultimately the sacrifice of the cross, (not to mention the validation of the Resurrection), that I believe or have faith in the fact that I am “at one” with God now, even in my current imperfect bodily state. My faith or trust in the work that Jesus did on my behalf, gives me this confidence. Hence, my reliance to be at one with God the Father is not based on what I have done to bridge the gap that exists but rather on the “work” that Jesus accomplished.

I hope I have answered your question Donald, do not hesitate in letting me know if you require further clarification.

Regards,

bruce

About

Follower of Jesus, married with 5 grown up children, 6 grand children, ex-military and residing in beautiful Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada. a.k.a. "Papa"

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Christian, Religion

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats
  • 12,607 hits
Google Translate Available here …
Post Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Last 50 posts ….

Christian Apologetics

Thought Synergy

Learning to think like God thinks

Natasha Crain

Faithful Christian Parenting in a Secular World

Cerebral Faith

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

The Benefit of the Doubt

Thoughts on Christianity and its Doubts | Travis M. Dickinson

THINKAPOLOGETICS.COM

Responding to Critics, Seekers, and Doubters

Bible Spotlight

Shining a Light on the Bible and Bible Times

1 Way 2 Yahweh

... through the blood of Jesus alone.

A Softer Shade of Red

Just another God tale of Beauty for Ashes...

DaviD JosE

Faith | Hope | Love

Liberty On the Lighter Side

...sometimes lighthearted but always delighting in the Light...

Canon Fodder

Exploring the origins of the New Testament canon and other biblical and theological issues

Vatican Files

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Ancient Paths

Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the Ancient Paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls. Jeremiah 6:16

Cyber Penance

Apologetics, Devos, Random Thoughts

little by little

One little family finding our way - Little by Little, Day by Day

Sensible Nonsense

Greetings fellow Earthlings. The blog is about getting some perspective about daily life things. The not so boring stuff.

Matthew Winters (Comeback Pastor)

The life, ministry, & thoughts of a Christ-follower, husband, dad, & minister

Eternity Versus the Moment

Living with a two-world perspective

Center for Science and Culture

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Apologetics Canada

...Helping Churches Engage Young Adults across Canada...

A Clear Lens

Theology, Apologetics, Worldview

The Silver Lining

Encouraging others to find hope, healing, truth, and freedom through Jesus Christ.

ApoloJedi

Discussing Biblical Authority

The Isaiah 53:5 Project

Life: the time God gives you to determine how you spend eternity

Endless Rivers

It all started with a blank piece of paper

christfollower85

I would love for you to join me in worshipping Christ.

Salt My Words

Let your conversation be gracious and attractive and seasoned with salt...

You Can Trust Him

God's Faithfulness for the Grieving Parent

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

Brandon J. Adams

For millennials seeking the abundant life of Jesus

The Ruminant Scribe - Snapshots of God's World and Word

Thoughts based on God's Word as seen in His World

Real Christianity

THE NATURE OF THE CHURCH

marks of the kingdom

Infiltrating the darkness with the light of Christ's reign.

God's Grace ~ God's Glory!

~ declaring His kingdom ~ for His glory

Saving Sodom

Live a life of positive influence

Christians Ascent

Connecting People to JESUS

Shepherd/Guardian

So have I become your enemy by telling you the truth? Galatians 4:16

Bible Apologetics

discussing the evidence for the Bible

Liberating Lions

"The truth is like a lion. You don't have to defend it. Let it loose. It will defend itself."

randy bunch

Connecting People to His Purpose

What's Happening...?

helping you to know & to survive

