Through a Glass Darkly

1 Corinthians 13:12 (KJV) “For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.”

I’m 71 years old, I’ve seen a fair bit of change. When I joined the Royal Canadian Navy in 1962 we were still sending messages from our ships via morse code (yes, I still have the morse code locked in my memory). My grandchildren now use an IPad and IPhone like they were born with it.

I can still remember when we got our first TV (black and white) and how I even liked looking at the test pattern before the actual limited hours of programming came on.

Teen pregnancy was a rarity when I went to high school, drugs were virtually unknown in my circles, most mothers didn’t work outside of the home and getting a job was easy.

I asked the Lord to be my Saviour in my early twenties. My first Bible was colour coded with markers by all the notations I had put in it. Cross referencing was an art form and a Bible Concordance (a actual book) saved me time. That’s nothing compared to today. I have my various Bible translations on my IPad plus other apps that I use. I don’t even need to be connected to the Internet to use them. And when I am online, just about anything that I need is readily available in a second; not to mention, most of it is free.

Today we have information coming at us from every angle. I’m mindful of the Bible verse that states, But thou, O Daniel, shut up the words, and seal the book, even to the time of the end: many shall run to and fro, and knowledge shall be increased.” Daniel 12:4 (KJV)

I’m not saying that knowledge isn’t a good thing, it obviously can be. There is scientific information that correlates with Intelligent Design, textual criticism that correlates with the reliability of the Scriptures, archaeological findings that correlate with Biblical authenticity, just to mention a few. Of course there are always opposite opinions and false teachings that strive to tear down. These opposing viewpoints and false teachings have always been present, yet today it seems to be a torrent rather than trickle. The running to and fro can be overwhelming.

The whole point of all this learning and knowledge, from a Biblical perspective, is to establish a relationship with our Heavenly Father, His Son Jesus Christ and our helper, the Holy Spirit. It’s where the rubber hits the road. I have many stories of how God’s love has been demonstrated to me over the years and I will share just one here that always brings tears to my eyes.

A number of years ago, during my morning prayers, I felt an urge to tell God that I needed a hug. It may sound silly but that is how I felt. I even explained to Him how I knew He was a spirit etc but I still felt like I needed a hug from Him. Finished my prayers, went off to work, came home, ate supper with my family etc. In the early evening I became aware of an almost overwhelming urge that I needed to go to a Christian Summer camp meeting. I had seen a sign on the road about it as I drove home from work. I told my wife about the overwhelming feeling I had and asked her if it was alright if I went and she said go ahead. We had three children at that time and this was about the time that we put them to bed.

I drove to the meeting, it was a Pentecostal church camp building and I went inside. I sat at the back. The Pastor was speaking and then he invited anyone who needed a blessing or prayer to come up to the front of the room. Normally when an invitation like this is given people come forward right away. No one moved. Not one. I heard a voice in my mind saying that I needed to go to the front. I stood up and walked forward. As I walked forward, others followed behind me. I knelt and the others behind me formed a horizontal line and did likewise. The Pastor went from person to person, laid his hands on each person’s head and said a prayer. He came to me and did likewise. Nothing exceptional happened. I got up and was walking away when an off duty Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) officer came up to me and said, “I don’t know who you are but God told me to give you a hug”.

What a beautiful and loving God we have. How beautiful He orchestrated this. I will never forget His loving kindness as long as I live. I would have missed this if I hadn’t responded to the leading of His Holy Spirit and gone to the meeting. I would have missed this if my wife hadn’t been open to her putting the children to bed alone. I would have missed this if I had stayed at the back of the room and then gone home.

Take the time to be silent in front of God when in prayer. Worship Him for who He is, thank Him for all He has done for you. Worthy is the Lamb, I look forward to singing this in Heaven.

Now we see through a glass darkly, but then face to face, now we know in part, but then we shall know, even as we are known. All the information and knowledge we learn here is only a part. Focus on Him.

About

Follower of Jesus, married with 5 grown up children, 6 grand children, ex-military and residing in beautiful Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada. a.k.a. "Papa"

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Christian
2 comments on “Through a Glass Darkly
  1. Janet says:

    That is an awesome beautiful story Bruce. As I was coming to believe I went to a church with my friend Sherry. The pastor was either talking or praying and said something about how much Jesus loves us. I was thinking hmmm I wonder id Jesus really loves me. When we did the handshakes i was across the aisle and this elderly little lady was staring at me. Like right at me. So I went over to shake her hand and she leans forward and says “I love you.” I hugged her and told her she had made my day. I was not sure what to think but hearing your story…. Yes… I am sure it was an answer to my question. Beautiful. 😀

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats
  • 23,543 hits
Google Translate Available here …
Post Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Last 50 posts ….

Christian Apologetics

Scott's Blog

Jesus be with you

EttingerWriting.com

Stories, features, articles of writer and author David Ettinger.

Victors' Corner

Wholesome Inspiration for Family, Life and Living - From A Christian Worldview

Randy Lane Bunch Ministries

Where God's Answers Meet Man's Questions

Through Ink & Image

...Pursuing a God Inspired Life

Inspirational Photos

Inspirational Scripture Photos

EQUIP THE SAINT

Calling today's world to God's timeless truth...

Thought Synergy

Learning to think like God thinks

Natasha Crain

Faithful Christian Parenting in a Secular World

Cerebral Faith

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

The Benefit of the Doubt

A blog about Dialogue, Doubts, and Christian Faith ~Travis Dickinson~

THINKAPOLOGETICS.COM

Responding to Critics, Seekers, and Doubters

Bible Spotlight

Shining a Light on the Bible and Bible Times

1 Way 2 Yahweh

... through the blood of Jesus alone.

A Softer Shade of Red

Just another God tale of Beauty for Ashes...

DaviD JosE

Faith | Hope | Love

Canon Fodder

Exploring the origins of the New Testament canon and other biblical and theological issues

Vatican Files

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Ancient Paths

Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the Ancient Paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls. Jeremiah 6:16

Cyber Penance

Apologetics, Devos, Random Thoughts

Eternity Versus the Moment

Living with a two-world perspective

Center for Science and Culture

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Apologetics Canada

...Helping Churches Engage Young Adults across Canada...

A Clear Lens

Theology, Apologetics, Worldview

Red Letters

Living the Christian life, following Jesus

The Silver Lining

Encouraging others to find hope, healing, truth, and freedom through Jesus Christ.

ApoloJedi

Discussing Biblical Authority

The Isaiah 53:5 Project

Life: the time God gives you to determine how you spend eternity

christfollower85

Fellow worshipper of Christ.

Salt My Words

Let your conversation be gracious and attractive and seasoned with salt...

You Can Trust Him

God's Faithfulness for the Grieving Parent

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

Brandon J. Adams

For millennials seeking the abundant life of Jesus

The Ruminant Scribe - Snapshots of God's World and Word

Thoughts based on God's Word as seen in His World

Real Christianity

THE NATURE OF THE CHURCH

marks of the kingdom

Infiltrating the darkness with the light of Christ's reign.

God's Grace ~ God's Glory!

~ declaring His kingdom ~ for His glory

Saving Sodom

Live a life of positive influence

One Hired Late In The Day

Theological Essays of Encouragement, Discernment, and the Christian Life

Christians Ascent

Connecting People to JESUS

Shepherd/Guardian

So have I become your enemy by telling you the truth? Galatians 4:16

