Jesus Is Our Reference Point

reference-point

Nabeel Qureshi currently has stomach cancer and is under going chemo treatments. His recent VLog # 6 indicated that his wife was pregnant and suffered a miscarriage. All the VLogs are available on my Nabeel Qureshi posting. I can’t help but love this guy.

Nabeel was talking about how Jesus taught us to pray and going to the Greek translation, indicated that it indicates we should pray shamelessly or boldly and it brought back memories of when our twins were born. I posted the following on Nabeel’s VLog:

“Nabeel, I’m so sorry to hear about the mis-carriage. I want to share with you how God directed me to pray when our twins were born 36 years ago. My wife and I went to the hospital and I was with her and she was having a rough time. I hate to see my wife in pain. Because it was so extended, the pain, I went to the chapel and prayed and asked God to expedite the delivery. It was a petition prayer like you indicated. I was pretty earnest because of the pain my wife was in. I didn’t know what the problem was but God did. He stopped me from praying and said, stop asking and start thanking me. I immediately thanked Him in prayer for helping my wife and went back in to her room. Evidently the twins both were in a breech position. The Doctors said that they had never seen anything like this with twins before. Both babies instantly changed their position to head down and the births proceeded as normal. They said it was like hands just instantly changed their positions. I am mindful of that when I pray now. Normally I use the petition method BUT I also am mindful of Mark 11:24 where Jesus said we can ask for anything and if we believe we have received it, it will be ours. I ask God to give you and your family grace, mercy, faith, peace and His presence, plus your healing AND I also boldly claim what I have prayed for and thank Him for it (which I have done for you and yours). So I do both when I am really in earnest for something I am praying for, I ask and I thank. 12 years ago I had prostrate cancer and was told I had a 17 percent chance of being alive in 5 years. Still here and still cancer free! I know He loves us, I know He hears our prayers, I have no idea why He keeps us waiting at times but one day I will. In the interim, I will continue knocking on His door. I love you brother, my eyes go teary every time I watch your VLogs. The grace and peace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.”

Our grand daughter Josephine (11 months old and a real sweetheart) is not well this morning so our son and his wife are taking her to the hospital and my wife is watching their two boys at home. I said a prayer to God for her healing. It made me mindful that we don’t have the reference point to God our Heavenly Father like Jesus does. Jesus knows the will of our Father and understands the how’s and the why’s that we don’t know. Even when it comes to prayer. But, we have Jesus as our reference point. We have the Scriptures that give us the words of Jesus and we have His Holy Spirit within us.

John 16:13 “But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all the truth. He will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears, and he will tell you what is yet to come.”

1 John 5:14-15 “This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. And if we know that he hears us—whatever we ask—we know that we have what we asked of him.”

Hebrews 4:14-16Therefore, since we have a great high priest who has ascended into heaven, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold firmly to the faith we profess. For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet he did not sin. Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.”

I told Nabeel that I don’t know why God sometimes answers our prayers right away and other times He keeps us waiting. I’ve learned over the years that sometimes He doesn’t give us what we are asking for because He has something better in store for us. And there are also times when He doesn’t give us what we are asking for because He knows that in the long run, it will hurt us and not be a positive thing.

I wish I had answers to questions that I still have but like the Apostle Paul says,

1 Corinthians 13:12 (KJV) For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.

That’s where faith kicks in. We don’t have answers to all of the questions, we don’t understand all there is to know about our Heavenly Father, His Son Jesus and the Holy Spirit. And honestly, trying to find answers to some of the questions I have doesn’t come easy. Knowing in part means that sometimes you have to acknowledge that you don’t understand or you don’t see the wisdom in God’s ways.

John 6:60-69  ESV  “When many of his disciples heard it, they said, “This is a hard saying; who can listen to it?” But Jesus, knowing in himself that his disciples were grumbling about this, said to them, “Do you take offence at this? Then what if you were to see the Son of Man ascending to where he was before? It is the Spirit who gives life; the flesh is no help at all. The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and life. But there are some of you who do not believe.” (For Jesus knew from the beginning who those were who did not believe, and who it was who would betray him.) And he said, “This is why I told you that no one can come to me unless it is granted him by the Father.”

After this many of his disciples turned back and no longer walked with him. So Jesus said to the twelve, “Do you want to go away as well?” Simon Peter answered him, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life, and we have believed, and have come to know, that you are the Holy One of God.”

“This is a hard saying; who can listen to it?” What that means in today’s English is and I paraphrase…..” That is difficult to understand or comprehend, who can believe or accept that?”

In my life, so many answered prayers, so many expressions of God’s love, so much mercy and forgiveness that I don’t deserve, all because of what Jesus accomplished on the cross. How can Jesus not be my reference point.

Like Peter, I can’t turn away because I don’t understand something or find something hard to accept. I too have come to believe that Jesus is indeed the Son of God. It’s called faith.

 

About

Follower of Jesus, married with 5 grown up children, 6 grand children, ex-military and residing in beautiful Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada. a.k.a. "Papa"

Tagged with:
Posted in Apologetics, Christian, Religion

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats
  • 23,543 hits
Google Translate Available here …
Post Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Last 50 posts ….

Christian Apologetics

Scott's Blog

Jesus be with you

EttingerWriting.com

Stories, features, articles of writer and author David Ettinger.

Victors' Corner

Wholesome Inspiration for Family, Life and Living - From A Christian Worldview

Randy Lane Bunch Ministries

Where God's Answers Meet Man's Questions

Through Ink & Image

...Pursuing a God Inspired Life

Inspirational Photos

Inspirational Scripture Photos

EQUIP THE SAINT

Calling today's world to God's timeless truth...

Thought Synergy

Learning to think like God thinks

Natasha Crain

Faithful Christian Parenting in a Secular World

Cerebral Faith

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

The Benefit of the Doubt

A blog about Dialogue, Doubts, and Christian Faith ~Travis Dickinson~

THINKAPOLOGETICS.COM

Responding to Critics, Seekers, and Doubters

Bible Spotlight

Shining a Light on the Bible and Bible Times

1 Way 2 Yahweh

... through the blood of Jesus alone.

A Softer Shade of Red

Just another God tale of Beauty for Ashes...

DaviD JosE

Faith | Hope | Love

Canon Fodder

Exploring the origins of the New Testament canon and other biblical and theological issues

Vatican Files

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Ancient Paths

Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the Ancient Paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls. Jeremiah 6:16

Cyber Penance

Apologetics, Devos, Random Thoughts

Eternity Versus the Moment

Living with a two-world perspective

Center for Science and Culture

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Apologetics Canada

...Helping Churches Engage Young Adults across Canada...

A Clear Lens

Theology, Apologetics, Worldview

Red Letters

Living the Christian life, following Jesus

The Silver Lining

Encouraging others to find hope, healing, truth, and freedom through Jesus Christ.

ApoloJedi

Discussing Biblical Authority

The Isaiah 53:5 Project

Life: the time God gives you to determine how you spend eternity

christfollower85

Fellow worshipper of Christ.

Salt My Words

Let your conversation be gracious and attractive and seasoned with salt...

You Can Trust Him

God's Faithfulness for the Grieving Parent

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

Brandon J. Adams

For millennials seeking the abundant life of Jesus

The Ruminant Scribe - Snapshots of God's World and Word

Thoughts based on God's Word as seen in His World

Real Christianity

THE NATURE OF THE CHURCH

marks of the kingdom

Infiltrating the darkness with the light of Christ's reign.

God's Grace ~ God's Glory!

~ declaring His kingdom ~ for His glory

Saving Sodom

Live a life of positive influence

One Hired Late In The Day

Theological Essays of Encouragement, Discernment, and the Christian Life

Christians Ascent

Connecting People to JESUS

Shepherd/Guardian

So have I become your enemy by telling you the truth? Galatians 4:16

