He Loves Us!

god-loves-us

Sometimes it’s hard to imagine that our God, who created this earth, our solar system, our galaxy and the whole universe, loves us. The fact that He hears our prayers, answers our prayers, guides us, meets our deepest needs, still boggles my mind.

1 John 4:9-10 NIV reads:

This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him.  This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.”

halifax-waterfront_with-logo

Sometimes when I am outside and I view the landscape, the harbour, the rolling hills, smell the fresh air, see the beautiful sky, I feel so small. I watch the birds fly by and marvel what they can do. We think we are so smart yet we can’t create from scratch a little bird that God provides food for. He created all of this including you and me. He knows everything about me, even more than I do, and He still loves me. He loved me when I was not seeking Him. He answered when I called out to Him.

And when I think of what Jesus did, the words of reconciliation that He spoke, the truth that He explained and the sacrifice that He made for us, it again boggles my mind. I’ve spoken before about the overwhelming evidence for God, and find it hard to understand why some still go through life without seeking Him, but I did the same thing, I took it all for granted, never really looked at what was all around me, never gave a second thought.

It hurts when those that we love, be it family, friends or acquaintances, are still as I was. That’s where prayer comes in and of course our witness by what we say and do and the mercy of God. When I am given an opportunity to speak to others about our loving God, I try to share those beautiful moments that God has given me, that have touched my heart to it’s very core. Some will say that it is just a coincidence and I can understand that logic, but there are so many of those coincidences. I’ll share a couple with you.

When we had our first child I used to go upstairs with my daughter and say her prayers with her at night. It was also a time of just being in the presence of God, being silent before Him. One night after saying my daughters prayer with her, as I lingered there, God spoke to me and told me that I MUST tell my wife about a debt that I had. A few months before we got married I got into a poker game and lost a relatively large sum of money. Just so you know, that was my LAST poker game (ever). I had borrowed the money to pay off the debt but my wife did not know about it. I had been paying it off month by month. Sneaky little guy that I was, I had told the loan company NOT to contact me at home. And for a good number of months they complied with my request. When God spoke to me He was very insistent. This was not a choice, I must tell my wife about it now. So when I came downstairs I told her about it. She was very gracious. Guess what happened the very next day? You got it, the loan company called my wife and said to her, “you are aware that your husband has a loan with us”. She responded that yes she was aware and that the outstanding amount would be paid off by the end of the month, and it was. God knew that trust and honesty was important to my wife even though I allowed for a fudge factor. Yes, I admit I had a lot to learn. Just so you know, I’m still learning. How personal is that? But wait, there’s more!

During the same time period I was taking some courses at the university. One of the courses was on Comparative Religion. I had a really hard time with this course because the Professor was not a Christian and there were ten books that we had to read and review. A number of the authors of the ten books had committed suicide so the subject matter was hardly up lifting. I felt compelled to complete the course but it was difficult. I told my wife that if it was not for the strong conviction from God that I had to finish the course, I would have quit. I think I spent half of my time in the university library, finding documentation to refute information that the Professor gave out as gospel in the classroom. One day when I walked into class, the Professor told me that the class was mine. I knew nothing about this, no hint whatsoever. So I sat on a stool and spoke to the class about how I became a Christian. At the end of the class, about 10 fellow students came up to me and I answered their questions. It was really something. But we’re not finished yet ……

That evening when I had returned home, I got a phone call from the Professor. He wanted to come to my house and speak with me. I was a bit intimidated because the Professor had a list of degrees behind his name a mile long and I was just a basic student. I prayed and asked God what I should do. My thinking was to argue point for point but God told me to just speak from my heart.  So I did. That evening in my living room the Professor knelt and asked Christ into his life as Lord and Saviour. We actually stayed in contact for a number of years as the Professor was a draft dodger from the United States and he did end up returning to the U.S. And yes, I did finish the course. My natural inclination was to quit the course but God let me know that I should finish it. Never had a clue what He had in store for me or the class or the Professor.

There are many many more coincidences but I will spare you (for today). I’m just an ordinary guy, thick headed, slow to learn. But He loves me and He loves you. How can we not love Him in return!

Don’t doubt our Lord’s guidance, don’t ever doubt His love for you!

About

Follower of Jesus, married with 5 grown up children, 6 grand children, ex-military and residing in beautiful Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada. a.k.a. "Papa"

Posted in Apologetics, Christian, Religion
2 comments on “He Loves Us!
  1. Hope Wingo says:

    Reblogged this on 1 Way 2 Yahweh and commented:
    What a beautiful testimony, Bruce! The “professor” part brought tears to my eyes.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats
  • 9,319 hits
Google Translate Available
Post Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Christian Apologetics

A Clear Lens

Theology, Apologetics, Worldview

The Silver Lining

Encouraging others to find hope, healing, truth, and freedom through Jesus Christ.

ApoloJedi

Discussing Biblical Authority

The Isaiah 53:5 Project

Life: the time God gives you to determine how you spend eternity

Endless Rivers

It all started with a blank piece of paper

christfollower85

I would love for you to join me in worshipping Christ.

Salt My Words

Let your conversation be gracious and attractive and seasoned with salt...

You Can Trust Him

God's Faithfulness for the Grieving Parent

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

Brandon J. Adams

For millennials seeking the abundant life of Jesus

The Ruminant Scribe - Snapshots of God's World and Word

Thoughts based on God's Word as seen in His World

Real Christianity

THE NATURE OF THE CHURCH

marks of the kingdom

Infiltrating the darkness with the light of Christ's reign.

God's Grace ~ God's Glory!

~ declaring His kingdom ~ for His glory

Saving Sodom

Live a life of positive influence

Christians Ascent

Connecting People to JESUS

Shepherd/Guardian

So have I become your enemy by telling you the truth? Galatians 4:16

Bible Apologetics

discussing the evidence for the Bible

THINKAPOLOGETICS.COM

Responding to Critics, Seekers, and Doubters

Liberating Lions

"The truth is like a lion. You don't have to defend it. Let it loose. It will defend itself."

randy bunch

Connecting People to His Purpose

What's Happening...?

helping you to know & to survive

1 Way 2 Yahweh

... through the blood of Jesus alone.

The Woodshed

Reaching with heart, mind, soul, and strength

RZIM: Ravi Zacharias International Ministries

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Sean McDowell

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Risen Jesus, Inc.

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

The Christian Apologetics Alliance

answering seekers, equipping Christians, and demonstrating the truth of the Christian worldview

The Apologetic

Debating Atheism, Evolutionism, Cults, and Christianity

Is Christianity True?

finding the truth in an unreasonable world with J. Steve Lee

It Ain't the Same

A Newsletter of Opinion on Current Australian Christianity

Random Thoughts. Christian Walk.

Everyday Thoughts on Life from a Christian Perspective.

Christ Centered Teaching

Our Lord and God is Christ, Our Message is His Gospel, and Our Context is God's Love.

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Spirit Of Error

A biblical response to the modern prophets & apostles movement

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

