A Living Hope

Living Hope

1 Peter 1:3-9 NIV

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade. This inheritance is kept in heaven for you, who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time. In all this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. These have come so that the proven genuineness of your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may result in praise, glory and honour when Jesus Christ is revealed. Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy, for you are receiving the end result of your faith, the salvation of your souls.

When I read the scriptures, especially the Gospels, I try to imagine myself there, watching what is happening, listening to the words being spoken, painting a picture in my mind of what is taking place. Years ago I had the privilege of being able to spend a week in Jerusalem so I can mentally picture being in the Garden of Gethsemane or on the Mount of Olives plus some of the other Biblical locations. At times I can almost smell the air. It is such a very special place and I am from a land that is so far far away.

The Apostle Peter speaks of the living hope that we have and this is true. When you really stop to think about it, the fact that we have this living hope, that is all about a man who lived many years ago in a land on the other side of the world, who lived and died and rose again, and He is now my hope, it kind of boggles the mind. It’s true, I’ve never seen Jesus, Lord knows I’d would love to. I’ve never heard His voice, at least not externally, but there is this yearning to be in His presence, to close that gap between all those years, between all that distance and most importantly, between my heart and His.

When you put yourself in the shoes of someone who has never honestly looked at the life and ministry of Jesus and what He accomplished, looking at everything from His perspective, it REALLY is a big journey, a big step. Everything that we see in this world is aimed at the physical/material. Of course Jesus demonstrated and validated Himself in the physical/material world while speaking of and pointing to the Heavenly/spiritual reality.

We are surrounded with so many things that we take for granted, ourselves, our families, the choices we have, the rights we have, the earth we live on, the solar system, galaxy and universe we live in, never really contemplating how they got here, how amazingly they work and how intricately they are designed. There is world, Biblical and Church history to become aware of, values to honestly examine, truth to find, comprehend and acknowledge and of course, when you have the time to get around to it, self examination.

In my early twenties (before I became a Christian) I have ironed out how the rules were supposed to work, there are do’s and don’ts for everyone else that have to be followed if things were to be fair (for me) and then there are the rules that I have to follow, only in my particular case, a lot of the rules that apply to everyone else, don’t apply to me.

Becoming a Christian and being “born again” is huge. It’s like switching from black and white TV to colour TV… (yes I know, I’m giving my age away). And don’t forget God’s Holy Word, our spiritual food, our life line, our path to actually knowing God.  Most of us had no idea we had totally missed so much. All of this learning is normal, some of it hurts, and some of it has to be repeated over and over again until we finally complete that particular lesson. You don’t want to know how big the actual course is!

There are so many things to learn about and these are all important, but most importantly, what matters most, what makes our living hope real is the beginning and continued growth of a relationship with God our Heavenly Father through Jesus, His only begotten Son and the Holy Spirit, that bridges the years, the distance and the emptiness. I compare this relationship with God to my marriage with my wife (there’s a Bible lesson here if you look for it). My wife and I have been married now for 45+ years. When we first got married we didn’t have a clue, literally. We raised 5 children, have 6 grandchildren and I love my wife so much more now than I did when we first got married. Don’t get me wrong, I married the girl of my dreams and if ever there was a guy that was crazy about his wife, it was me. But …….. I know her heart now a lot better than I did when we first got married, she’s always stood by me, often when I didn’t deserve it, and she has proved her love to me time and time again. She is literally part of me, I would not be complete without her, we are one and that is the way it is supposed to be.

That’s how I feel about Jesus. Oh the stories I could tell you, but it is His love, the love that comes from the Father, the love that He gives me when I don’t deserve it, He’s never failed me, never. That is my living hope, to be with Him. I marvel at His Grace.

About

Follower of Jesus, married with 5 grown up children, 6 grand children, ex-military and residing in beautiful Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada. a.k.a. "Papa"

Posted in Apologetics, Christian, New Testament, Religion
2 comments on “A Living Hope
  1. Bruce, this is our time, in the kingdom of grace, to walk and live, not in Jerusalem, but in the uttermost parts, to witness of His grace in this “living hope” to a world that is dead, living in darkness and decay without hope. Praise the Lord, He shines His light of hope through us and draws His people to Himself. Have a blessed day. ~ Fran

  2. Amen, Bruce!!!
    I don’t know how people go through trials without hope in Christ.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats
  • 9,398 hits
Google Translate Available
Post Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Christian Apologetics

A Clear Lens

Theology, Apologetics, Worldview

The Silver Lining

Encouraging others to find hope, healing, truth, and freedom through Jesus Christ.

ApoloJedi

Discussing Biblical Authority

The Isaiah 53:5 Project

Life: the time God gives you to determine how you spend eternity

Endless Rivers

It all started with a blank piece of paper

christfollower85

I would love for you to join me in worshipping Christ.

Salt My Words

Let your conversation be gracious and attractive and seasoned with salt...

You Can Trust Him

God's Faithfulness for the Grieving Parent

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

Brandon J. Adams

For millennials seeking the abundant life of Jesus

The Ruminant Scribe - Snapshots of God's World and Word

Thoughts based on God's Word as seen in His World

Real Christianity

THE NATURE OF THE CHURCH

marks of the kingdom

Infiltrating the darkness with the light of Christ's reign.

God's Grace ~ God's Glory!

~ declaring His kingdom ~ for His glory

Saving Sodom

Live a life of positive influence

Christians Ascent

Connecting People to JESUS

Shepherd/Guardian

So have I become your enemy by telling you the truth? Galatians 4:16

Bible Apologetics

discussing the evidence for the Bible

THINKAPOLOGETICS.COM

Responding to Critics, Seekers, and Doubters

Liberating Lions

"The truth is like a lion. You don't have to defend it. Let it loose. It will defend itself."

randy bunch

Connecting People to His Purpose

What's Happening...?

helping you to know & to survive

1 Way 2 Yahweh

... through the blood of Jesus alone.

The Woodshed

Reaching with heart, mind, soul, and strength

RZIM: Ravi Zacharias International Ministries

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Sean McDowell

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Risen Jesus, Inc.

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Christian Apologetics Alliance

answering seekers, equipping Christians, and demonstrating the truth of the Christian worldview

The Apologetic

Debating Atheism, Evolutionism, Cults, and Christianity

Is Christianity True?

finding the truth in an unreasonable world with J. Steve Lee

It Ain't the Same

A Newsletter of Opinion on Current Australian Christianity

Random Thoughts. Christian Walk.

Everyday Thoughts on Life from a Christian Perspective.

Christ Centered Teaching

Our Lord and God is Christ, Our Message is His Gospel, and Our Context is God's Love.

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Spirit Of Error

A biblical response to the modern prophets & apostles movement

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

