The Work of God

Believe

I’ve always wondered what it would feel like to actually stand beside or near Jesus, the Son of God and look upon His face and hear His voice. You see the sky, the clouds, the sun shining and feel the wind around you and there our creator stands, He who created all that we see and all that we are. But of equal importance, what message did He actually bring?

The message Jesus gave us was continually focused on helping us understand or grasp why He actually came to us, who had actually sent Him and what the purpose of His coming  was meant to achieve.

I know these are Scripture verses that you’ve all read before but we need to remind ourselves of the why, who and what. It’s the Good News, the Gospel, the words of life that Jesus speaks.

John 5:19-30 NIV Jesus gave them this answer: “Very truly I tell you, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does. For the Father loves the Son and shows him all he does. Yes, and he will show him even greater works than these, so that you will be amazed. For just as the Father raises the dead and gives them life, even so the Son gives life to whom he is pleased to give it. Moreover, the Father judges no one, but has entrusted all judgment to the Son, that all may honour the Son just as they honour the Father. Whoever does not honour the Son does not honour the Father, who sent him. Very truly I tell you, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be judged but has crossed over from death to life. Very truly I tell you, a time is coming and has now come when the dead will hear the voice of the Son of God and those who hear will live. For as the Father has life in himself, so he has granted the Son also to have life in himself. And he has given him authority to judge because he is the Son of Man. Do not be amazed at this, for a time is coming when all who are in their graves will hear his voice and come out—those who have done what is good will rise to live, and those who have done what is evil will rise to be condemned. By myself I can do nothing; I judge only as I hear, and my judgment is just, for I seek not to please myself but him who sent me.

John 6: 38-40 NIV  For I have come down from heaven not to do my will but to do the will of him who sent me. And this is the will of him who sent me, that I shall lose none of all those he has given me, but raise them up at the last day. For my Father’s will is that everyone who looks to the Son and believes in him shall have eternal life, and I will raise them up at the last day.

John 10:14-18 NIV “I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me—  just as the Father knows me and I know the Father—and I lay down my life for the sheep. I have other sheep that are not of this sheep pen. I must bring them also. They too will listen to my voice, and there shall be one flock and one shepherd. The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life—only to take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.

John 10:25-30 NIV Jesus answered, “I did tell you, but you do not believe. The works I do in my Father’s name testify about me, but you do not believe because you are not my sheep. My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.  I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand.  My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand.  I and the Father are one.

John 12: 44-50 NIV  Then Jesus cried out, “Whoever believes in me does not believe in me only, but in the one who sent me. The one who looks at me is seeing the one who sent me. I have come into the world as a light, so that no one who believes in me should stay in darkness. If anyone hears my words but does not keep them, I do not judge that person. For I did not come to judge the world, but to save the world. There is a judge for the one who rejects me and does not accept my words; the very words I have spoken will condemn them at the last day. For I did not speak on my own, but the Father who sent me commanded me to say all that I have spoken. I know that his command leads to eternal life. So whatever I say is just what the Father has told me to say.

The words that Jesus spoke, the things that Jesus did, it all originated from our Heavenly Father and Jesus made that abundantly clear.

And our part, Jesus also made that abundantly clear.

John 6:28-29 NIV “Then they asked him, “What must we do to do the works God requires?” Jesus answered, “The work of God is this: to believe in the one he has sent.

Worthy is the Lamb. Blessings!

 

 

About

Follower of Jesus, married with 5 grown up children, 6 grand children, ex-military and residing in beautiful Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada. a.k.a. "Papa"

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Apologetics, Christian, New Testament, Religion
2 comments on “The Work of God
  1. Bruce, thank you for finding and sharing these. Did you include, or did I miss Jesus statement to Pilate, “I came to bear witness of the truth?” The Truth Project is based on this statement.
    Have a blessed day.

    • Bruce says:

      Hi Fran, No I didn’t, kinda figured when Jesus said “For I did not speak on my own, but the Father who sent me commanded me to say all that I have spoken.” covered the truth aspect.I was thinking that the truth was a given. Actually there are so many to pick from. Good point though and thank you. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats
  • 12,607 hits
Google Translate Available here …
Post Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Last 50 posts ….

Christian Apologetics

Thought Synergy

Learning to think like God thinks

Natasha Crain

Faithful Christian Parenting in a Secular World

Cerebral Faith

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

The Benefit of the Doubt

Thoughts on Christianity and its Doubts | Travis M. Dickinson

THINKAPOLOGETICS.COM

Responding to Critics, Seekers, and Doubters

Bible Spotlight

Shining a Light on the Bible and Bible Times

1 Way 2 Yahweh

... through the blood of Jesus alone.

A Softer Shade of Red

Just another God tale of Beauty for Ashes...

DaviD JosE

Faith | Hope | Love

Liberty On the Lighter Side

...sometimes lighthearted but always delighting in the Light...

Canon Fodder

Exploring the origins of the New Testament canon and other biblical and theological issues

Vatican Files

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Ancient Paths

Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the Ancient Paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls. Jeremiah 6:16

Cyber Penance

Apologetics, Devos, Random Thoughts

little by little

One little family finding our way - Little by Little, Day by Day

Sensible Nonsense

Greetings fellow Earthlings. The blog is about getting some perspective about daily life things. The not so boring stuff.

Matthew Winters (Comeback Pastor)

The life, ministry, & thoughts of a Christ-follower, husband, dad, & minister

Eternity Versus the Moment

Living with a two-world perspective

Center for Science and Culture

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Apologetics Canada

...Helping Churches Engage Young Adults across Canada...

A Clear Lens

Theology, Apologetics, Worldview

The Silver Lining

Encouraging others to find hope, healing, truth, and freedom through Jesus Christ.

ApoloJedi

Discussing Biblical Authority

The Isaiah 53:5 Project

Life: the time God gives you to determine how you spend eternity

Endless Rivers

It all started with a blank piece of paper

christfollower85

I would love for you to join me in worshipping Christ.

Salt My Words

Let your conversation be gracious and attractive and seasoned with salt...

You Can Trust Him

God's Faithfulness for the Grieving Parent

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

Brandon J. Adams

For millennials seeking the abundant life of Jesus

The Ruminant Scribe - Snapshots of God's World and Word

Thoughts based on God's Word as seen in His World

Real Christianity

THE NATURE OF THE CHURCH

marks of the kingdom

Infiltrating the darkness with the light of Christ's reign.

God's Grace ~ God's Glory!

~ declaring His kingdom ~ for His glory

Saving Sodom

Live a life of positive influence

Christians Ascent

Connecting People to JESUS

Shepherd/Guardian

So have I become your enemy by telling you the truth? Galatians 4:16

Bible Apologetics

discussing the evidence for the Bible

Liberating Lions

"The truth is like a lion. You don't have to defend it. Let it loose. It will defend itself."

randy bunch

Connecting People to His Purpose

What's Happening...?

helping you to know & to survive

