Trusting God

Trusting-God

This is personal.

I don’t have all the answers. I don’t even know all the questions. But I know enough to trust my God who has never failed me. How do you say thank you for something like that? Coming to know God, even in my limited way, is the most beautiful thing that has ever happened to me in my life. I have lived a long life, I’ve been given much more than I deserve and trust me, that is definitely an understatement.

God has taught me many lessons over the years. Some have taken root, some I still haven’t fully grasped and there are many that I am sure I have missed and have yet to learn or understand.

I was adopted and only saw my birth mother for a couple of days a few years ago. I’ve never met my birth father. My adopted parents had some short falls (don’t we all) and there were wounds that needed to be healed, voids that needed to be filled. God filled that void and healed my heart.

I met and married the love of my life but without God directing me, helping me, forgiving me and opening my eyes, I would have destroyed my marriage years ago. He helped me begin to understand myself and understand my wife (admittedly still a work in progress) . He helped me see the little girl in her that looks to me for protection and validation. I can’t begin to tell you how often I’ve needed His help with my marriage. We’ve been married now for almost 47 years and we dated for 8 years prior to that. I love my wife with all of my heart and can’t imagine being in this world without her. I have my God to thank for that. She loves me with all my flaws and I likewise love her with all her flaws. Kind of how God loves me only He doesn’t have flaws. That should make one appreciate God’s love even more. Can’t help thinking what’s in it for Him but that is just the way that He is. I can’t understand how someone can say no to that.

My wife and I were blessed with five children, two of them being twins. It’s been hard. Actually it’s still difficult to this very day. We love all of them, they’re all different, all at different stages of where we were at one time or another. One of our daughters almost died due to alcoholism but God saved here, literally, she and her family are Christians now. I thought there was no hope, had given up, but I was wrong. She is such a joy to our lives now, even more than prior to her becoming a alcoholic, which is unreal. Our prayer life is continually peppered with prayers on behalf of our children (they are all adults now but still our children). We are God’s children, the love that we feel for our children comes from the source of true love, from God. You’d think He’d give up on us after all the grief we cause Him, but He doesn’t. There is a lesson there if you look for it.

God has provided for our family so many times over the years. Opened doors when I thought none were there. Sometimes right down to the last minute but He never left us hanging, not once.

There have been many “Christian works” that we’ve been involved in over the years. There has been fruit, people that God used us to draw to Himself, more than you realize until you really start remembering. The Christian works that stand out in my mind are the works that He did through me, where He basically kind of took over, where I was just the vessel and He actually did the work. Some of those were simply amazing. Effortless, inspiring, jaw dropping are words that come to mind. Like opening up a whole new realm of possibilities. He is NOT limited by our shortfalls, not in the least. He knows we will fall, He knows what we can do and what we can’t do in ourselves, but because He actually lives in us through His Holy Spirit, He is not limited by our deficiencies. And these deficiencies diminish as time progresses or at least they should if you are earnestly trying to walk with Him. His love for us is constant, never changes. Do we disappoint Him at times, I’m sure we do but just as a parent loves their children, in spite of their shortfalls, He loves us steadfastly throughout, there is no difference in His love from the beginning to the end.

But the beauty, the part that I cherish above all else, the part that my heart cries out in gratitude to, is the nature and wonder of our God. Jesus told us that everything He did, everything He said, everything He needed us to know, comes from the Father. Everything. No wonder God the Father was proud of His Son Jesus. Jesus did a magnificent job. We see the plan of the Father unfold, the unity of the Trinity, the love that fuels everything. And I am so grateful. Jesus said He who has seen me has seen the Father. That pretty well says it all when you stop and think about it.

But Jesus went above and beyond. He walked as we walk on this earth. He loved the disciples and shed tears as we shed tears. But the cross is what takes my breath away. My sin, our sin, it had to be dealt with and Jesus agreed with our Father, He would deal with it. He would provide the remedy and He did, but at what a cost. Can you imagine your birth father coming forward and saying, I will take the punishment that my son or daughter deserves and then being slapped, punched, ridiculed, lashed, have nails pierce his hands and feet and be hung on a cross to die? But this was our creator. This was the one who gave us life so that we could experience love and all that emulates from Him. Hard to fathom isn’t it. Even harder to comprehend is Jesus, who was one with the Father, was willing to endure that pain, willing to be separated from the Father, so that we could be at one with the Father. We will never comprehend that depth of love while we live in these earthly bodies. BUT …. it doesn’t end there. Our Heavenly Father planned that Jesus, His only begotten Son, would rise from the dead and deal a death blow to that separation once and for all, and He did.

The Resurrection is our hope, it is God’s promise to you and to me, as believers, in what Christ accomplished and who He is. It is the pinnacle of the Gospel. This Easter, lets remember exactly what our Heavenly Father proposed and what Jesus accomplished through His obedience to the Father’s will and lets remember exactly what Jesus did for you and me.

Worthy is the Lamb! Blessings!

About

Follower of Jesus, married with 5 grown up children, 6 grand children, ex-military and residing in beautiful Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada. a.k.a. "Papa"

Tagged with:
Posted in Apologetics, Christian, Religion
6 comments on “Trusting God
  1. atimetoshare.me says:

    He is worthy indeed. Blessed Palm Sunday and thanks for sharing your story.

  2. Bruce, it is a blessing to read how God our Father, through Jesus Christ our Lord, and the power of the Holy Spirit works in the hearts and lives of others. It is truly incomprehensible; His greatness ~ unsearchable. Have a blessed day. ~ Fran

  3. Amen!
    Great post/testimony, Bruce. Especially love the part about your daughter.
    Very encouraging post.

    • Bruce says:

      Hi Bill, thank you. Just because you don’t directly hear from me for a while doesn’t mean that you and your family aren’t in my thoughts and prayers. God has been very good to me, certainly can’t complain. Blessings to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats
  • 23,198 hits
Google Translate Available here …
Post Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Last 50 posts ….

Christian Apologetics

EttingerWriting.com

Stories, features, articles of writer and author David Ettinger.

Victors' Corner

Wholesome Inspiration for Family, Life and Living - From A Christian Worldview

Randy Lane Bunch Ministries

Where God's Answers Meet Man's Questions

Through Ink & Image

...Pursuing a God Inspired Life

Inspirational Photos

Inspirational Scripture Photos

EQUIP THE SAINT

Calling today's world to God's timeless truth...

Thought Synergy

Learning to think like God thinks

Natasha Crain

Faithful Christian Parenting in a Secular World

Cerebral Faith

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

The Benefit of the Doubt

A blog about Dialogue, Doubts, and Christian Faith ~Travis Dickinson~

THINKAPOLOGETICS.COM

Responding to Critics, Seekers, and Doubters

Pursuing my Own Path

To simplicity and beyond...by way of Italy

1 Way 2 Yahweh

... through the blood of Jesus alone.

A Softer Shade of Red

Just another God tale of Beauty for Ashes...

DaviD JosE

Faith | Hope | Love

Canon Fodder

Exploring the origins of the New Testament canon and other biblical and theological issues

Vatican Files

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Ancient Paths

Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the Ancient Paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls. Jeremiah 6:16

Cyber Penance

Apologetics, Devos, Random Thoughts

Eternity Versus the Moment

Living with a two-world perspective

Center for Science and Culture

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Apologetics Canada

...Helping Churches Engage Young Adults across Canada...

A Clear Lens

Theology, Apologetics, Worldview

Red Letters

Living the Christian life, following Jesus

The Silver Lining

Encouraging others to find hope, healing, truth, and freedom through Jesus Christ.

ApoloJedi

Discussing Biblical Authority

The Isaiah 53:5 Project

Life: the time God gives you to determine how you spend eternity

christfollower85

Fellow worshipper of Christ.

Salt My Words

Let your conversation be gracious and attractive and seasoned with salt...

You Can Trust Him

God's Faithfulness for the Grieving Parent

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

Brandon J. Adams

For millennials seeking the abundant life of Jesus

The Ruminant Scribe - Snapshots of God's World and Word

Thoughts based on God's Word as seen in His World

Real Christianity

THE NATURE OF THE CHURCH

marks of the kingdom

Infiltrating the darkness with the light of Christ's reign.

God's Grace ~ God's Glory!

~ declaring His kingdom ~ for His glory

Saving Sodom

Live a life of positive influence

One Hired Late In The Day

Theological Essays of Encouragement, Discernment, and the Christian Life

Christians Ascent

Connecting People to JESUS

Shepherd/Guardian

So have I become your enemy by telling you the truth? Galatians 4:16

Bible Apologetics

discussing the evidence for the Bible

