Communion With God

commune-with-God

There is, within the heart of every man or woman, who have truly asked Jesus to be their Lord and Saviour, a need to commune with God, at a deep personal level. It’s what makes us aware of the lack of this communion, or the sense that God is distant.  It’s also what draws us into a closer relationship with God. I’m often reminded of those little robot circular vacuums that go around your home, cleaning and then going back to their home base. God is our home base, communion with God is where we get our spiritual batteries recharged, it’s where we feel at home, where our peace resides, deep inside. We’ve been designed to work this way,  Jesus is our source of Life, as the Father has ordained.

The Bible mentions the human heart almost 300 times. In essence, this is what it says: the heart is that spiritual part of us where our emotions and desires dwell. It’s where love dwells.

For me, there are two things that keep me connected to my home base, God’s Word and prayer. And I find that the more time I spend in God’s Word, the more often I want to pray, need to pray. I also am aware of a difference in the level or depth of communion, if I stay away from God’s Word for too long, it’s like the distance between He and I becomes greater and I don’t like that.

Jesus pointed out the fallen condition of our hearts in Mark 7:21-23: “From within, out of men’s hearts, come evil thoughts, sexual immorality, theft, murder, adultery, greed, malice, deceit, lewdness, envy, slander, arrogance and folly. All these evils come from inside and make a man unclean.” Our biggest problem is not external but internal; all of us have a heart problem.

My natural tendencies, within my flesh, is constantly fighting against this communion with God, ever so subtle, via little things that occupy my mind and often my time. Yet God’s Holy Spirit within me fights back and reminds me of my need to be in His presence. This awareness is also gentle or subtle, so you have to learn to be aware of it. And, most importantly, learn not to ignore it.

I remember seeing a bumper sticker on a car a few years ago which said “Feel distant from God? Who moved?” That is a good reference point to be mindful of. We have free will and the decision to draw near or drift apart to or from God is ours. Our soul, the spiritual core of our being is where this sensitivity originates from, where the emptiness originates and where only being at one with God can bring peace and fulfillment within.

In order for a Christian to grow and change, the heart must be changed. This only happens by the power of God in response to faith. “With the heart one believes unto righteousness” (Romans 10:10). This is part of the new birth, where our hearts and minds are changed. The changes are progressive, subtle, continual, if we keep ourselves yoked to Jesus and His Word.

Psalm 37:4-5 (KJV)Delight thyself also in the Lord: and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart. Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.”

The scriptures tell us that God has a heart, which makes sense considering we are created in His image. Acts 13:22 NIV says: “After removing Saul, he made David their king. God testified concerning him: ‘I have found David son of Jesse, a man after my own heart; he will do everything I want him to do.”

Revelation 3:20 NIV reads: “Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.”

Notice that we have to open the door! That door is our heart, the core of our spiritual being. The source of all blessings is God BUT in order to receive the blessings you need to reach out and accept it (take it to heart).

2 Corinthians 3:2-3You yourselves are our letter, inscribed on our hearts, known and read by everyone. It is clear that you are a letter from Christ, the result of our ministry, written not with ink but with the Spirit of the living God, not on tablets of stone but on tablets of human hearts.…”

Communion with God is not difficult, it’s relatively simple when you stop to think about it. But….. and here is the kicker…. we need to acknowledge our dependency, value His communion, really, honestly. Lip service doesn’t work, never has, never will.

Matthew 15:8 NIV reads: “These people honour me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me.”

Jeremiah 29:13 NIV says: “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

Worthy is the Lamb! Blessings!

About

Follower of Jesus, married to Peggy, with 5 grown up children, 6 grand children, ex-military and residing in beautiful Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada. a.k.a. "Papa"

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Apologetics, Christian, New Testament, Old Testament, Religion
2 comments on “Communion With God

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats
  • 25,679 hits
Google Translate Available here …
Post Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 146 other followers

Christian Apologetics

Daily Dose of Faith

Commentary on Life, Pop Culture, and Current Events mixed with Christianity

paytej

"Let's seek the truth. Let's share in Christ."

Endless Rivers

It all started with a blank piece of paper

Nature & Scripture

The Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith

The Nehemiah Project

Rebuilding the Church by Building People

UNTO CHRIST'S FULLNESS

"TILL WE ALL COME TO THE UNITY OF THE FAITH, AND OF THE KNOWLEDGE OF THE SON OF GOD, UNTO A PERFECT MAN, UNTO THE MEASURE OF THE STATURE OF THE FULLNESS OF CHRIST" (EPHESIANS 4:13)

Scott's Blog

Jesus be with you

EttingerWriting.com

Stories, features, articles of writer and author David Ettinger.

Victors' Corner

Wholesome Inspiration for Family, Life and Living - From A Christian Worldview

