My Lord and My God

remake-of-doubting-st-thomas

John 20: 26-29 NIVA week later his disciples were in the house again, and Thomas was with them. Though the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you!” Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here; see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe.” Thomas said to him, “My Lord and my God!” Then Jesus told him, “Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.”

Can you imagine when the realization of what has happened to Jesus hits the minds and hearts of the Apostles? Can you imagine what it would have done to you and I if we had of been there? In this case it is the Apostle Thomas who sees Jesus for the first time after His resurrection. You can almost hear the tumblers falling into place.

I work as a part time security guard now (semi-retired) on a military base that I am quite familiar with from my military days in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. It gets me out of the house and active five days out of every two weeks, which I find is a nice balance. I’m 72 years old now so getting outside and being physically active is important. I am outside a lot of the time and when I am not busy doing my security thing, I can see the sky and the panorama of the Halifax waterfront. I try to remind myself that even though I am pretty low on the food chain now, compared to my former days, the God who created our universe, our galaxy, our solar system and this earth is my Lord. Then to make it interesting I envision the surface of our earth and the small province of Nova Scotia in Canada, then I zero in on Halifax and the patch of ground that I am standing on. It’s pretty hard to comprehend sometimes but the fact of the matter is that it is true. And He knows you and He knows me. He hears our prayers, He knows our hearts, He loves us.

I don’t know about you but this scripture always grabs me. It touches my heart because of the reality of what it says and shows. This is our God, the Christ, the Messiah, the Son of the living God that is standing in front of Thomas. He was just crucified and died on the cross and now He stands before Thomas. I can hear the emotion in Thomas’s voice and I’m pretty sure Thomas fell to his knees. Can you think of the things that would race through your mind if you were Thomas?

But wait, THIS IS JESUS, He died on the cross, we thought He was the Son of God and yet here He stands, alive, in front of me and I see the wounds! Not only is He able to walk on water, calm the storm, feed multitudes with almost nothing, heal the sick and demonstrate dominion over demons but the fact that He is standing here in front of me, having appeared instantly on this side of a locked door in this room means that when He told me I had nothing to fear from physical death if I believed in Him is true! He just proved it! My Lord and my God!

Was this what Thomas thought? Only God and Thomas know the answer to that question but I’m pretty sure it was something along those lines. Jesus is God, He walked with us, He talked with us, they killed Him and yet here He stands. Ask me if that is a day that they will never forget! Some day we’ll find out what went through their minds,

We see the Angel of the Lord many times in the Old Testament accepting worship from those to whom He was presenting Himself and we understand that this manifestation was Jesus, prior to His being born into a physical body. The God of the universe visiting man. We see the manifestation of God being present in the Tabernacle, in the Temple(s) and once again, this was God dwelling with man, dwelling with Israel, His chosen nation, until their sin couldn’t be ignored anymore and His visible presence was gone. But when Jesus was born, it changed everything. This was God, the Son of God, part of the Trinity, truly dwelling with us as one of us, in the flesh, in a physical body. We see the ministry of Jesus where He proved He was God by the miracles He performed, by the perfect obedience He lived and by the words that He spoke. Jesus said that whoever truly saw Him for who He was had seen the Father, face to face, in the flesh. And His witness was true. The Apostles and disciples believed Him and then …….. Jesus died on the cross.

I can’t imagine what the Apostles and disciples felt when Jesus was taken down from the cross and buried. Crushed probably doesn’t adequately cover it. Talk about a valley. But Jesus had told them what would happen, how He would be killed and on the third day He would rise again. And then, for a period of 40 days, Jesus appeared to the Apostles and some of the disciples.

Acts 10:39-42 NIVWe are witnesses of everything he did in the country of the Jews and in Jerusalem. They killed him by hanging him on a cross, but God raised him from the dead on the third day and caused him to be seen. He was not seen by all the people, but by witnesses whom God had already chosen—by us who ate and drank with him after he rose from the dead.  He commanded us to preach to the people and to testify that he is the one whom God appointed as judge of the living and the dead.”

And this witness to Thomas was one of them.

And once again, this changed everything.

Can my mind comprehend the reality of God’s Holy Spirit living in me, not always, sometimes it’s hard, but I know it’s true. His Spirit has spoken to me, guided me, lifted me many many times throughout my life. His Spirit has changed my heart, changed my mind, changed me. I know……, He hasn’t finished with me yet, I am sanctified but still in this body, still being made Holy while being viewed as Holy by God our Father because of what Jesus did and what Jesus still does.

Can my mind comprehend that the God of this universe visited this earth as a person, died and then rose again? I wasn’t there, I never saw it, never experienced the reality that the Apostles and early disciples did experience, BUT I believe their witness, I believe their testimony. Then Jesus told him, “Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.”

That’s you, where ever you are and that’s me, here in Nova Scotia, standing on a road, doing security work. He’s our God, our hope and it is beautiful and wonderful!

Worthy is the Lamb! Blessings!

 

 

 

 

 

About

Follower of Jesus, married with 5 grown up children, 6 grand children, ex-military and residing in beautiful Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada. a.k.a. "Papa"

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Apologetics, Christian, New Testament, Old Testament

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats
  • 16,126 hits
Google Translate Available here …
Post Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Last 50 posts ….

Christian Apologetics

Inspirational Photos

Inspirational Scripture Photos

EQUIP THE SAINT

Calling today's world to God's timeless truth...

Thought Synergy

Learning to think like God thinks

Natasha Crain

Faithful Christian Parenting in a Secular World

Cerebral Faith

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

The Benefit of the Doubt

A blog about Dialogue, Doubts, and Christian Faith ~Travis Dickinson~

THINKAPOLOGETICS.COM

Responding to Critics, Seekers, and Doubters

Bible Spotlight

Shining a Light on the Bible and Bible Times

1 Way 2 Yahweh

... through the blood of Jesus alone.

A Softer Shade of Red

Just another God tale of Beauty for Ashes...

DaviD JosE

Faith | Hope | Love

Liberty on the Lighter Side

...sometimes lighthearted but always delighting in the Light...

Canon Fodder

Exploring the origins of the New Testament canon and other biblical and theological issues

Vatican Files

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Ancient Paths

Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the Ancient Paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls. Jeremiah 6:16

Cyber Penance

Apologetics, Devos, Random Thoughts

Eternity Versus the Moment

Living with a two-world perspective

Center for Science and Culture

Christian Journey, Christian Cases, Faith, Salvation, Hope

Apologetics Canada

...Helping Churches Engage Young Adults across Canada...

A Clear Lens

Theology, Apologetics, Worldview

The Silver Lining

Encouraging others to find hope, healing, truth, and freedom through Jesus Christ.

ApoloJedi

Discussing Biblical Authority

The Isaiah 53:5 Project

Life: the time God gives you to determine how you spend eternity

christfollower85

I would love for you to join me in worshipping Christ.

Salt My Words

Let your conversation be gracious and attractive and seasoned with salt...

You Can Trust Him

God's Faithfulness for the Grieving Parent

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

Brandon J. Adams

For millennials seeking the abundant life of Jesus

The Ruminant Scribe - Snapshots of God's World and Word

Thoughts based on God's Word as seen in His World

Real Christianity

THE NATURE OF THE CHURCH

marks of the kingdom

Infiltrating the darkness with the light of Christ's reign.

God's Grace ~ God's Glory!

~ declaring His kingdom ~ for His glory

Saving Sodom

Live a life of positive influence

Christians Ascent

Connecting People to JESUS

Shepherd/Guardian

So have I become your enemy by telling you the truth? Galatians 4:16

Bible Apologetics

discussing the evidence for the Bible

Liberating Lions

"The truth is like a lion. You don't have to defend it. Let it loose. It will defend itself."

randy bunch

Connecting People to His Purpose

What's Happening...?

helping you to know & to survive

The Woodshed

Reaching with heart, mind, soul, and strength

